When Is a DWI a Felony in New York?
Experienced DWI Defense for Long Island Drivers
Have you or someone close to you been charged with a felony in relation
to drunk driving? Understanding your rights and obtaining the informed
counsel you need is important at this time. A Long Island DWI attorney
at The Law Offices of Scott Gross, P.C. is here to help you. We have been
serving New York residents for years. As a former prosecutor, our
Long Island criminal defense lawyer is uniquely equipped to defend you during this time.
DWI Felony Charges & Penalties in New York
In the state of New York, driving while intoxicated (
DWI) is a very heavily penalized crime. A driver may be charged with DWI if
he or she is found operating a motor vehicle with a 0.08 percent blood
alcohol concentration (BAC) or higher. If the driver is under 21 years
of age, he or she may face criminal charges for driving with a 0.02 percent
BAC or any detectable alcohol level.
There are situations, however, when a DWI may be charged as a felony. If
this is your second DWI within a span of 10 years, the charge will be
raised to a Class E Felony. Felonies carry considerable additional penalties
and consequences in the state of New York. You may be restricted from
serving on a jury, voting, or owning a firearm if convicted of a felony
DWI. You may also face an extended prison sentence.
Other potential consequences connected with a felony DWI include:
- Minimum 1 year license revocation
- Up to 4 years in jail
- Annual $250 driver assessment fine, per year for 3 years
- Fines between $1,000 and $5,000
- Potential mandatory enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP)
right away to learn more.
Call The Law Offices of Scott Gross, P.C.