First DWI Offense Lawyer in Long Island
Get Defense From A Successful DWI Defense Lawyer
In the state of New York, the offense for drunk driving is referred to
as driving while intoxicated (DWI). This crime is taken very seriously by law enforcement because driving
drunk can endanger many others. Because of this, the penalties for those
convicted of drunk driving — even first time offenders with otherwise
perfect records — can be quite severe.
What is DWI?
Whether or not a driver is considered legally intoxicated depends on his
or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The legal limit for non-commercial
drivers who are over the age of 21 is 0.08 percent.
Underage DWI carries its own set of penalties and consequences.
The various offenses related to driving while under the influence include:
- DWAI (driving while ability impaired) with alcohol
- DWAI with drugs
- DWAI with a combination of drugs and alcohol
- Aggravated DWI
- Chemical test refusal
What are the penalties for a first DWI offense?
For a first offense, the penalties you face for a DWI may include up to
90 days of your driver's license suspension, between $300 and $500
in fines, and up to 15 days in jail. You may also be required to enroll
in the New York Drinking Driver Program and pay an annual $250 assessment
fee for 3 years. Aside from the criminal penalties, you may also see a
significant increase in your insurance rates because of your stained driving
record and a potential loss of income if your occupation depends on having
a driver's license.
Discuss Your Case in a No-Cost Consultation with Our DWI Lawyer on Long Island
There is a lot at stake with even a first DWI, so explore your options
with our knowledgeable Long Island criminal defense lawyer. We are experienced
in handling DWI cases and can help you aggressively minimize your penalties
or even pursue a dismissal of your case.
Contact The Law Offices of Scott Gross, P.C.
as soon as possible.
We can help you determine your ideal course of action in a
free case review