Long Island Underage DWI Charges

Proven & Reliable DWI Attorney for Long Island

If your child face has been charged with underage DWI, we encourage you to get ahold of our equipped and dedicated team at The Law Offices of Scott Gross, P.C. Our criminal defense attorney for Long Island can make all the difference in the outcome of your case. The state of New York punishes underage drinking and driving very heavily, so it is important to fight these charges together with a competent lawyer.

Consequences for a first underage drinking and driving offense may include:

  • 6 months driver's license suspension with $100 required fee for suspension termination
  • $125 civil penalty
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Don't miss out on utilizing our attorney's former prosecutorial experience and his smart underage DWI defense strategies. We can help you protect your child's driving privileges and your insurance rates.

Legal Drinking Age & Driving

The United States has one of the highest drinking ages in the world at 21 years old. By comparison, a young person can apply for his or her driver's license in the state of New York at just 16 years of age. This disparity between the legal drinking and driving age has become an issue for some teenagers.

Another difficult factor is the contrast between state and federal laws and the reality of youth life in America. While the drinking age may be more restrictive here than in other countries, obtaining alcohol as a young person in the United States is easy. Many young people drink regularly before turning 21 years old.

According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), however, these laws have value. An estimated 25,000 lives have been saved because of the federal drinking age restrictions, while drunk driving-related crashes are reduced by at least 16 percent. Parents can help their kids in this regard. Studies show that parental influence can reduce a child's likelihood of drinking underage by as much as 30 percent.

Schedule a Complimentary Consultation

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime in every state, and in the state of New York, it is no exception. Being convicted of underage drunk driving can have lasting repercussions on your future. We are here to help you get a second chance.

Contact The Law Offices of Scott Gross, P.C. to set up your free case review.